Our New Blog

Explore gluten free eating, living and cooking worry free.

🧠 Remember: 🌾 Gluten protein is naturally occurring, but it can be extracted, concentrated and added to food and other products to add protein, texture, and elasticity. It also works as a binding agent to hold processed foods together and give them shape.

🧠 Remember: 🚫 Cross contamination is when small or big amounts of residual gluten hasn’t been cleaned or washed properly off surfaces, cookware, and kitchen towels which can be harmful to anyone who is exposed. All depending on the different levels of sensitivity. Cross contamination is a real fear amongst the gluten free and Celiac disease community when cooking within the same kitchen.

Sourced from Celiac.org
  • Barley & Rye (Common)

    Barley is commonly found in:

    🥛 Malt (malted barley flour, malted milk and milkshakes, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, malt vinegar)

    🔴 Food Coloring

    🍲 Soups

    🍺 Beer


    Rye is commonly found in:

    🍞 Rye Bread, such as Pumpernickel

    🍺 Rye Beer

    🥣 Cereals

  • Wheat (Most Common)

    Wheat is commonly found in:

    🥖 Breads

    🧁 Baked Goods

    🥣 Cereals

    🍝 Sauces

    🥗 Salad Dressings

    🧴 Shampoo

    🍬 Sweet Treats

    🍝 Pasta

    🚫 Roux

    (Sources of Gluten) 
  • Gluten-Containing Grains and Their Derivatives

    Brewer’s Yeast


    einkorn wheat





    KAMUT® khorasan wheat




    Malt: in various forms including: malted barley flour, malted milk or milkshakes, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, malt vinegar


    Wheat Starch: that has not been processed to remove the presence of gluten to below 20ppm and adhere to the FDA Labeling Law

    (Celiac Disease Foundation) 
1 of 3

Note: Label Reading & the FDA

Only treatment for Celiac Disease is a strict gluten free diet. "Wheat-free” does not necessarily mean gluten-free. If a gluten-free label claims to be gluten-free on the package, then it is most likely safe to eat as the FDA only allows packaged foods with less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten to be labeled gluten free. Some packaging also contain a list of common allergens usually on the front package or in the back (wheat, soy, egg, nuts, and milk). Barley and rye are not in the top eight allergens required to be listed.

💚Be sure to check the ingredients list for other hidden sources of gluten and product main website for more details💚

Official FDA Link - Labeling of Foods